Adopt an app’ : the differentiating advantages of trendy stores

par fanny | Jul 2019

For this August article, mobile applications are on the rise and we have chosen to go back to the basics. Definition and decoding of this digital tool for stores. We will not fail to mention the retailers specialized in furniture, of course!

 

Mobile application definition

Let’s go back to the basics. A mobile application is a free or paid program that can be downloaded and executed from the operating system of a smartphone or tablet. The application often provides more comfortable and convenient access to sites or services that are generally accessible also on the mobile version of a web page.

To go back a little bit, a large part of the mobile applications was created at the very beginning for smartphones developed by Apple. Android followed with a peak of development in 2010-2011. The applications can have commercial, marketing and/or advertising functions (source : Définitions marketing ) and are recommended for any business sector, whether they are in BtoC or BtoB.

 

Why an app?

Why can today’s mobile application be a must for retailers?

This is not a scoop, smartphone or mobile users are more and more numerous and for multiple uses. The use of smartphone has taken precedence over the use of classic web. Today it is possible to buy from an application for example or to pay directly with your smartphone.

Mobile is rooted in people’s daily lives and brands to reach them have had no choice but to develop on this channel. The smartphone and the birth of mobile applications have seen the development of a new way of consuming. In 2017, “83% of the Retailers’ TOP 30 [had] already developed their application and 30% of users [had] already purchased via this mobile application” (source : comonmarket.com). It is safe to assume that these figures have increased further in recent months.

 

source digitalsobe.com – 2013

 

Having an app’ is a digital way to assert your identity. It must be thought of as a tool that gives the user the possibility to surf between the different channels (omnichannel logic). It is another gateway into the brand’s universe and the extension of the customer’s experience when leaving the physical store (possible rating, wishlist with favorite products, sending personalized messages based on the latest purchases made, chat, visualization in augmented reality …).

 

Trendy stores

The stores that have taken the plunge have certainly not done so lightly. They have defined clear objectives beforehand and know why they have chosen to develop an application. They have studied their customers’ typical purchasing paths, their behaviours and their consumption habits. Their application is now an integral part of their consumers’ experience. We can cite some examples such as Castorama, Zara, Nike, Optical Center. IKEA too and its Ikea Place application is a great success: the brand has made a large part of its products available in augmented reality. It is counting on this technology to increase its online sales from $1.6 billion in 2016 to $5.9 billion in 2020 (source : CGTrader – Retailer’s survival guide).

 

© IKEA

 

The application of trendy stores therefore responds to a studied and identified need of the brand’s consumers. It can also base its success on innovation. His leitmotif? Hold the attention, make a lasting impression. The digital tool reflects the brand’s expertise, its know-how and the enhancement of its products.

And since we are talking about innovation, it is precisely INNERSENSE’s value proposition. An innovative application offered to furniture retailers and manufacturers that marks the customer, helps them to project themselves while allowing the store to use it as a sales tool. INNERSENSE offers consumer applications such as Maisons du Monde 3D at home, Château d’Ax, Roche Bobois or applications for professionals stores such as Monsieur Meuble or Stressless for example.

Perhaps you don’t need much to keep your store literally within reach. See you in September ! 🙂

 

#Stay tuned

Adopte une app’ : les atouts différenciants des magasins dans le coup

par fanny | juil. 2019

Pour cet article du mois d’août, les applications mobiles sont à la fête et nous avons choisi de reprendre les bases. Définition et décryptage de cet outil digital pour les magasins. Nous ne manquerons pas d’évoquer les retailers spécialisés dans le meuble, évidemment !

 

Définition d’une application mobile

Reprenons les bases. Une application mobile est un programme gratuit ou payant téléchargeable et exécutable à partir du système d’exploitation d’un smartphone ou d’une tablette. L’application permet souvent un accès plus confortable et pratique à des sites ou services généralement accessibles aussi sur la version mobile d’une page web.

Pour reprendre un peu l’histoire, une grande partie des applications mobiles a été créée au tout début pour les smartphones développés par Apple. Android a suivi avec un pic de développement dans les années 2010-2011. Les applications peuvent avoir des fonctions marchandes, marketing et/ou publicitaires (source : Définitions marketing ) et sont recommandables pour tout secteurs d’activités, qu’ils soient en BtoC ou BtoB.

 

Pourquoi une app’ ?

Pourquoi l’application mobile aujourd’hui peut faire office d’incontournable pour les retailers ?

Ce n’est pas un scoop, les utilisateurs de smartphones ou mobiles sont de plus en plus nombreux et pour des usages multiples. L’utilisation du smartphone a pris le pas sur celle du web classique. Il est aujourd’hui possible d’acheter depuis une application par exemple ou encore de payer directement avec son smartphone.

Le mobile est ancré dans la vie quotidienne des individus et les marques pour les toucher, n’ont eu d’autre choix que de se développer sur ce canal. Le smartphone et la naissance des applications mobiles ont vu se développer une nouvelle façon de consommer. En 2017, « 83% du TOP 30 des Retailers [avaient] déjà développé leur application et 30% des utilisateurs [avaient] déjà acheté via cette application mobile » (source : comonmarket.com). On peut imaginer sans trop se tromper que ces chiffres ont encore dû augmenter ces derniers mois.

 

source digitalsobe.com – 2013

 

Avoir une app’ est un moyen digital d’affirmer son identité. Elle doit être pensée comme un outil qui donne la possibilité à l’utilisateur de surfer entre les différents canaux (logique omnicanale). C’est une autre porte d’entrée dans l’univers de la marque et la prolongation de l’expérience du client à sa sortie du magasin physique (notation possible, wishlist avec produits coup de cœur, envoi de messages personnalisés en fonction des derniers achats réalisés, chat, visualisation en réalité augmentée …).

 

Les magasins dans le coup

Les magasins qui ont franchi le pas ne l’ont certainement pas fait à la légère. Ils ont défini des objectifs clairs en amont et savent pourquoi ils ont fait le choix de développer une application. Ils sont passés par l’étude des parcours d’achats types de leurs clients, de leurs comportements et de leurs habitudes de consommation. Leur application est aujourd’hui partie entière de l’expérience de leurs consommateurs. Nous pouvons citer quelques exemples comme Castorama, Zara, Nike, Optical Center. IKEA aussi et son application Ikea Place est un joli succès : la marque a rendu disponible une grande partie ses produits en réalité augmentée. Elle compte sur cette technologie pour augmenter ses ventes en ligne et passer de 1.6 milliard de $ en 2016 à 5.9 milliards en 2020 (source : CGTrader – Retailer’s survival guide).

 

© IKEA

 

L’application des magasins dans le coup répond donc à un besoin étudié et identifié des consommateurs de l’enseigne. Elle peut aussi baser sa réussite sur une innovation. Son leitmotiv ? Retenir l’attention, marquer les esprits. Dans l’outil numérique se reflètent l’expertise de la marque, son savoir-faire, la mise en valeur de ses produits.

Et puisque nous parlons d’innovation, c’est justement la proposition de valeur d’INNERSENSE. Une application innovante proposée aux revendeurs de meubles (et aux fabricants) qui marque le client, l’aide à se projeter tout en permettant au magasin de s’en servir comme outil d’aide à la vente. INNERSENSE propose des applications grand public comme Maisons du Monde 3D at home, Château d’Ax, Roche Bobois ou des applications à destination des professionnels en magasins comme c’est le cas de Monsieur Meuble ou Stressless par exemple.

Peut-être ne vous manque-t-il pas grand-chose pour que votre magasin soit littéralement à portée de main. On prend rendez-vous pour la rentrée ? 🙂

 

#Stay tuned