3D, key of the customer experience

par Fanny | Mar 2019

We all have heard about this in conferences linked with digital, retail or future of shopping. It’s been a while since we knew that customer experience is a major subject which will determine brands success. Might as well get on the move and not miss the boat. The proof in a few statistics.
 

Capitalize on customer experience to reinvent itself

 
To use Harley Manning (Forrester Research) definition, customer experience is “how customers perceive and remember all their interactions with your company”.

With the democratization of digital technologies, customer behavior has changed and brands had to adapt. Adapt to new expectations, other ways to look for and buy a product, other ways to consume and to say it simply.
According to a Walker study, “86% of buyers are willing to pay more for a great customer experience“. 73% of buyers think that customer experience is an important factor in purchasing decisions. Some pioneering brands have understood this well (Ikea, Amazon, Séphora), others have been making it their leitmotiv for years (Apple): focusing on the customer experience is a key value. Besides, the same study found that “by the year 2020, customer experience will overtake price and product as the key brand differentiator”.

For stores, it’s time to reinvent themselves. There’s no real borders anymore between e-commerce website and physical store (phygital). Points of contacts have been multiplied and clients want to easily switch from a channel to another that push brands to implement an omnichannel strategy.
 

What about home furnishings sector ?

 
Let’s talk about the sector we’re interested in. Where is the phygital in the home furnishings sector? End of 2017, IKEA, to mention a giant, launched its augmented reality app. The brand has always suggested (imposed?) a studied customer journey to bring on emotional reactions seeing that design, this customization (kitchen) or this arrangement.
Another example is Maisons du Monde that is very focused on digital strategy: in-store experience, AR app, online advice on interior design, 3D planner. Nothing is left to chance, everything is done to support and attract the consumer.

We note that this traditional industry is slowly evolving on this matter and sometimes have difficulty integrating digital technologies, intimately linked to today’s customer experience. Nevertheless, we can see that things are gradually moving forward. Driven by the urgent need for change, more and more brands are transforming themselves and demonstrating the ambition of a renewed customer experience, particularly by equipping themselves with innovative technologies.
 

3D, the digital transformation driver

 
Whoever says digital transformation must think 3D. Offering a personalized app or an interactive website to its customers necessarily implies a digitalization of its products. Whether in the clothing, furniture or real estate sectors, the experience of a digital catalog or a virtual or augmented reality product visualization is based on 3D.
As an example, Macy’s, famous American retailer, has massively invested in 3D for sales and can see the results today: +60% more sales in a pilot store and a product return rate of less than 2% according to Jeff Gennette, CEO. Once again, IKEA has 75% of its catalog in 3D and more than 2 million installations of its IKEA Place application.

According to a study realized in March 2018 by Grand view Research Inc, “the global visualization & 3D rendering market size is projected to reach USD 5.63 billion by 2025”. A promising sector and an incontestable source of income that it would be a shame to let go!

It is to give brands the benefit of such a dynamic market that Innersense digitizes the catalogs of furniture and home furnishings companies and creates models compatible with most market tools (planners, visuals, 3D databases, etc.). You are hesitating to take the plunge? We will be happy to discuss the issues you are facing, contact us!

Stay tuned,
Fanny, communication officer with Innersense

*source: Walker – Customers 2020: a progress report

La 3D, clé de l’expérience client

par Fanny | mars 2019

Le sujet est de toutes les conférences portant sur le digital, le retail, le magasin de demain. Depuis quelques temps l’expérience client est citée comme l’enjeu majeur, celui qui déterminera la réussite des marques. Autant prendre le train en marche et ne pas louper le coche. La preuve en quelques statistiques.
 

Miser sur l’expérience client pour se réinventer

 
Pour reprendre la définition préférée de Jérôme Monange (Consultant en retail marketing et fondateur de Lab LUXURY and RETAIL), l’expérience client est « la façon dont les clients se souviennent de la totalité de leurs interactions avec votre entreprise » (Harley Manning – Forrester Research).

Avec la démocratisation du numérique, le comportement du consommateur a changé et les marques ont dû s’adapter. S’adapter à de nouvelles attentes, à une autre façon de chercher et d’acheter un produit, à de nouvelles manières de consommer tout simplement.
D’après une étude menée par Walker*, 86% des acheteurs sont prêts à payer davantage pour une expérience client de qualité. 73% des acheteurs estiment qu’elle est un facteur important au moment de prendre la décision d’achat. Certaines marques pionnières l’ont bien compris (Ikea, Décathlon, Séphora), d’autres en font leur leitmotiv depuis des années (Apple pour ne pas les citer) : miser sur l’expérience client est une valeur sûre. D’ailleurs, la même étude prévoit qu’en 2020 l’expérience client prendra le pas sur le prix et le produit comme un élément clé de différentiation par rapport à la concurrence.

Pour les points de vente, il est l’heure de se réinventer. Il n’y a plus de frontière réelle entre site e-commerce et magasin physique (phygital). Les points de contacts se sont multipliés et les clients veulent pouvoir passer facilement d’un canal à un autre, ce qui oblige les marques à mettre en place une stratégie dite omnicanale.
 

Qu’en est-il du secteur du meuble et de la maison ?

 
Parlons du marché qui nous intéresse. Où en est le phygital dans le secteur du meuble et de la maison ? IKEA, pour parler d’un géant, a sorti fin 2017 son application de réalité augmentée. L’enseigne propose (impose ?) depuis toujours un parcours client étudié qui vise à susciter des réactions émotionnelles face à tel aménagement, telle personnalisation (cuisine), telle disposition.
Autre exemple, Maisons du Monde qui fait partie des acteurs très axés sur le digital : expérience magasin, application de réalité augmentée, conseil déco en ligne, aménagement d’espace en 3D. Rien n’est laissé au hasard, tout est fait pour accompagner et attirer le consommateur.

Nous constatons que ce secteur plutôt traditionnel évolue doucement sur le sujet et a parfois du mal à intégrer le digital intimement lié à l’expérience client d’aujourd’hui. On constate néanmoins que les choses bougent petit à petit. Poussées par le besoin urgent de changement, de plus en plus de marques se transforment et affichent l’ambition d’une expérience client renouvelée, notamment en s’équipant de technologies innovantes.
 

La 3D, moteur de la transformation digitale

 
Qui dit transformation digitale doit penser 3D. Proposer une application personnalisée ou un site web interactif à ses clients implique forcément une digitalisation de ses produits. Que ce soit dans le secteur de l’habillement, du meuble ou de l’immobilier, l’expérience d’un catalogue digital ou de visualisation en réalité virtuelle ou augmentée, passe par la 3D.
Pour exemple, Macy’s, retailer américain majeur, a réalisé des investissements massifs dans la 3D pour la vente et en voit les résultats aujourd’hui : +60% de ventes dans un magasin pilote et un taux de retour produits inférieur à 2% d’après Jeff Gennette, le CEO. Citons à nouveau IKEA dont 75% du catalogue est en 3D et qui compte plus de 2 millions d’installations de son application IKEA Place.

D’après une étude de mars 2018 réalisée par Grand view Research Inc, la visualisation de contenu 3D et de réalité augmentée est un marché qui atteindra les 5,63 milliards de dollars en 2025. Un secteur prometteur et une source de revenus indéniable qu’il serait dommage de laisser passer !

C’est pour faire profiter aux marques d’un tel dynamisme de marché qu’Innersense s’occupe de digitaliser les catalogues des entreprises du meuble et de la maison et crée des modèles compatibles avec la plupart des outils du marché (planners, visuels, base de données 3D, etc). Vous hésitez à sauter le pas ? Nous serons ravis de discuter des problématiques que vous rencontrez, contactez-nous !

 
Stay tuned,
Fanny pour Innersense

*source: Walker – Customers 2020: a progress report