The furniture market in France: obstacles and stepping stones

par fanny | Sep 2019

It’s back to school, we thought it was the right time to take stock of the state of the furniture market in France. How is it doing? What are its obstacles and stepping stones?

Market Update

The furniture market being highly volatile, 2018 was a good year even if it “marked a significant drop in sales, with -5.2% for furniture” (source:  Toute la Franchise). Even if decoration is attracting more and more French people – annual growth for the sector is between 3 and 5% on average – we must remain cautious even though 2019 looks promising.

According to FNAEM , the trend is towards recovery in 2019. The market continued to grow in May and recorded a 10.4% increase in sales. April was up 9.5%, so the market posted a strong performance at +9.9% for these two months. Year-to-date sales were up 4.8% for the first five months of the year.

Another trend that stands out is used second-hand furniture, which is taking up more and more space in today’s landscape. A recent survey indicates that 30% of respondents agree with the statement “I consume less and finally I am not worse off ” compared to 24% 10 years ago*.

© L’Ameublement Français – Study of French furniture 2016-2021 and part of the furniture in French spending on home furnishings.

 

Freins et tremplins

Admittedly, we can always fear a worse second half of the year or a mediocre 2020. The obstacles that can be identified, and which sometimes put the sector at risk, are, among others, the decline in real estate sales, which are still closely linked to the furniture market. Dominique Weber, former president of the furniture federation, stated in February 2018: “One piece of furniture out of three is purchased by a household during the 24 months following their move“(source Europe 1**). There is also too much competition on certain axes or the transformation of expectations and consumption patterns. But since 2019 seems to be off to a good start, let’s focus on the market’s springboards instead!

Despite the difficulties, this same transformation encourages and forces the actors to renew themselves. It gives a dynamic and invites brands not to rely on certain achievements. The transformation in question is very much linked to the integration of digital. And who doesn’t bend over can sometimes stay on the sidelines. However, with the collection of data, digital technology allows an opening to the exponential market. It is now much easier to gather information about your consumers to better target them and meet their expectations.

The call for transparency, with the evolution of brand-consumer relations, can also be widely used as a way to take off. Transparency requires, in part, a better communication on social networks. It is the space where actors can share a piece of daily life in the office, information on the manufacture of products, create a privileged contact with their customers. A lot of things that DNVB – Digital Native Vertical Brands – have understood and that can be a good source of inspiration. See our blog article on the subject.

Miliboo connected shopt – ©DR – Challenges

 

They surf on the (good) waves

Many brands are evolving, changing their habits and learning to adapt to this new situation. But they do not have a monopoly on change. Federations, business groups, dedicated exhibitions adopt new practices, raise awareness through workshops and meetings, and also adapt their themes.

The French Furniture Association (AMF)

For example, let’s take the French Furniture Association (AMF) which organizes annual theme days aimed at bringing in experts to help manufacturers take ownership of and respond to new market challenges. We talked to you about transparency earlier and we make the link here with the eco-responsible measures put in place and the AMF’s new contract aimed at reaching one million tonnes of recycled products. Today, the “green conscience” affects 52% of people compared to 30% in 2001, according to Marilyne Nguyen, Sociovision’s consulting director*. Another topic discussed last June at the AMF was societal change. Christophe Sampels, President of Immaterra, explains “that today we no longer need to sell a product, but an integrated solution, i.e. a mix of products and services, where service, in other words the intangible – plays an essential role in improving the conditions for efficiency” *. That’s all said and done!

Trade fairs

The trade fairs are not to be outdone and are also meeting new challenges. The theme of the September edition of Maison & Objet? “Work!”. This is in line with the trend of so-called “hybrid” products, which lend themselves as well to new work situations […] as to the uses of daily life […].*” Let us also mention Esprit Meuble, which will present a revised formula in early December. The show is opening up more: to the general public to reach more press outlets, internationally and on a contract basis as Maison & Objet. After a survey conducted among some exhibitors at the show, it appears that between 5 and 30% of their turnover is generated with the world of fittings / projects *. Enough to hope for a growing number of visitors for this edition, at which you can also meet the INNERSENSE team 😉 !

 

#Stay tuned

* Source : Le Courrier du Meuble et de l’habitat – 12 juillet 2019

** Source EUROPE 1 https://www.europe1.fr/economie/pourquoi-les-francais-se-sont-rues-dans-les-magasins-de-meubles-en-2017-3582968

Le marché de l’ameublement en France : freins et tremplins

par fanny | sept. 2019

C’est la rentrée des classes, on s’est dit que c’était le bon moment pour faire un point sur l’état du marché de l’ameublement en France. Comment se porte-t-il ? Quels sont ses freins et ses tremplins ?

Etat des courses

Le marché du meuble étant très fluctuant, 2018 a été une année correcte même si elle « a marqué un net recul des ventes, avec -5,2% pour le meuble meublant » (source:  Toute la Franchise). Même si la décoration séduit de plus en plus de français – croissance annuelle pour le secteur comprise entre 3 et 5% en moyenne – il faut rester prudent quoique 2019 s’annonce prometteur.

D’après la FNAEM , la tendance est au redressement pour 2019. Le marché a poursuivi sa croissance au mois de mai et a enregistré une progression de ses ventes de 10,4%. Le mois d’avril quant à lui affichait + 9,5%. Le marché signe donc une jolie performance à +9,9% pour ces deux mois. Avec le cumul annuel on obtient +4,8% pour les cinq premiers mois de l’année.

Autre tendance qui se démarque, le meuble de seconde main ou d’occasion qui prend de plus en plus de place dans le paysage actuel. Un sondage réalisé récemment précise que 30% des sondés approuvent l’affirmation « Je consomme moins et finalement je ne m’en porte pas plus mal » contre 24% il y a 10 ans *(source : Le Courrier du Meuble et de l’habitat).

© L’Ameublement Français

 

Freins et tremplins

Certes on peut toujours craindre un moins bon second semestre ou une année 2020 médiocre. Les freins qui peuvent être identifiés, et qui parfois mettent à mal le secteur sont, entre autre, la baisse des ventes immobilières, toujours très liées au marché du meuble meublant. Dominique Weber, ancien président de la fédération de l’ameublement, précisait en février 2018 : « un meuble sur trois est acheté par un ménage durant les 24 mois qui suivent son déménagement « (source Europe 1**). On peut également citer une trop forte concurrence sur certains axes ou encore la transformation des attentes et des modes de consommation. Mais puisque 2019 semble bien parti, concentrons-nous plutôt sur les tremplins du marché !

Malgré les difficultés, cette même transformation incite et force les acteurs à se renouveler. Elle donne une dynamique et invite les marques à ne pas se reposer sur certains acquis. La transformation en question est en très grande partie liée à l’intégration du digital . Et qui ne s’y plie pas peut parfois rester sur la touche. Pourtant, avec la collecte de la data le digital permet une ouverture au marché exponentielle. Il est désormais beaucoup plus facile de réunir des informations sur ses consommateurs pour mieux les cibler et répondre à leurs attentes.

L’appel à la transparence, avec l’évolution des relations marques-consommateurs, peut aussi largement être utilisé comme un moyen de décoller. La transparence passe en partie par une communication travaillée sur les réseaux sociaux. C’est l’espace où les acteurs peuvent partager un bout de quotidien au bureau, une info sur la fabrication des produits, créer un contact privilégié avec leurs clients. Tout un tas de choses que les DNVB – Digital Native Vertical Brands – ont bien compris et qui peut être une bonne source d’inspiration. Voir notre article de blog sur le sujet

Boutique connectée Miliboo – ©DR – Challenges

 

Ils surfent sur les (bonnes) vagues

De nombreuses marques évoluent, changent leurs habitudes et apprennent à coller à cette nouvelle donne. Mais elles n’ont pas le monopole du changement. Les Fédérations, groupements d’entreprises, salons dédiés adoptent de nouvelles pratiques, sensibilisent via des workshops et rencontres, adaptent aussi leurs thématiques.

L’Ameublement français

Pour exemple, prenons l’Ameublement français (AMF) qui organise chaque année des journées à thèmes visant à faire intervenir des experts pour aider les industriels à s’approprier et répondre aux nouveaux défis du marché. On vous parlait de transparence plus haut et on fait le lien ici avec les démarches écoresponsables mises en place et le nouveau contrat de l’AMF ayant pour objectif d’atteindre un million de tonnes de produits recyclés. Aujourd’hui la « conscience verte » touche 52% des gens contre 30% en 2001 d’après Marilyne Nguyen, directrice conseil de Sociovision *. Autre sujet abordé en juin dernier à l’AMF, les mutations sociétales. Christophe Sampels, président de Immaterra, explique « qu’il ne faut plus aujourd’hui vendre un produit, mais une solution intégrée, c’est-à-dire un mélange de produits et de services, où le service, autrement dit l’immatériel – joue un rôle essentiel en améliorant les conditions de l’efficience » *. Tout est dit !

Les salons

Les salons ne sont pas en reste et relèvent aussi les nouveaux défis. Le thème de l’édition Maison & Objet de septembre ? « Work ! ». Pile dans la  tendance des produits dits «hybrides qui se prêtent aussi bien aux nouvelles situations de travail […] qu’aux usages de la vie quotidienne […].*» Citons aussi Esprit Meuble qui présentera début décembre une formule revisitée. Le salon s’ouvre davantage : au grand public pour toucher plus de relais presse, à l’international et au contract comme Maison & Objet. Après une enquête menée auprès de certains exposants du salon, il ressort qu’entre 5 et 30% de leur chiffre d’affaires est réalisé avec le monde de l’agencement / projet *. De quoi espérer un nombre de visiteurs croissant pour cette édition, à laquelle vous pourrez d’ailleurs retrouver l’équipe d’INNERSENSE 😉 !

 

#Stay tuned

* Source : Le Courrier du Meuble et de l’habitat – 12 juillet 2019

** Source EUROPE 1 https://www.europe1.fr/economie/pourquoi-les-francais-se-sont-rues-dans-les-magasins-de-meubles-en-2017-3582968