The new trend of decoration and hardware stores

par fanny | Oct 2019

For some time now, you may have been able to observe a change in your cities and neighbourhoods. The hardware stores are no longer in the same place, the offer is different, closer. The trend is for smaller surfaces, a selection of products adapted to city dwellers, and an order taking directly in these new showrooms in the city centre.

 

What are these new models?

Although Leroy Merlin and other Mr. Bricolage have not disappeared from the outskirts of urban areas, they have recently adopted a new approach. Urban dwellers use the car sparingly and ultimately go less to hardware stores in the “suburbs”. With this in mind, the major DIY and decoration chains are opening new stores that are closer to places of experience or apartments than to soulless supermarkets.

 

The concept

The idea of these places is to create spaces that look like consumers and bring them together. Arrangements in which they find the spirit of their own interior or the one they would like to have.

Leroy Merlin

There are several examples. First of all, Leroy Merlin who opened “L’Appart” a few months ago in the Clichy-Batignolles district. It is the 5th Parisian store of the brand but the first of a new kind. A small surface area, 2200 sq. m. on two floors, with a concept designed to match the habits and tastes of the inhabitants of the district. More than a store, it is a place for conferences, exchanges and meetings, a coworking area. With a cleverly designed itinerary, L’Appart proposes to go through four typical model apartments for the inhabitants of the district. This is followed by the decoration area with a wide selection of lighting fixtures, painting and wall and floor coverings. The hardware space is on the 2nd floor.*

Parcours client L'appart leroy Merlin Batignolles
The Leroy Merlin Apartment in Les Batignolles in Paris. © LSA conso
Mr.Bricolage

By projecting themselves into these places that resemble them, consumers and visitors are better able to buy decorations or the convenience goods and products they need. In another example, Mr.Bricolage opened a store in downtown Orléans with an area three times smaller than its average size. In the latter, the brand focuses more on decoration than on hardware. 50% of its sales are based on this sector and the garden sector. In cities, the demand for decoration is often higher than in the outskirts. The major “DIY” brands are adapting. ***

GoodHome

Finally, the last example we have chosen to highlight is the GoodHome case, the new brand of the British group Kingfisher. The group owns Brico Dépôt and Castorama, which is currently experiencing difficulties in France. To get back on track, Kingfisher is launching GoodHome, a concept that offers innovative products organized by projects. Indeed, the interior is not designed as a hardware store but rather uses home staging by theme such as renovating your bathroom or improving your energy efficiency for example. The idea is to concentrate on a small area the most purchased references considered as the most “urgent”. Kiosks are available in the store to order online products that are not in the physical store. The concept is already being tested in the UK and will be set up in France near Lille in autumn 2019.****

GoodHome du groupe Kingfisher
« To help counter falling sales, B&Q will introduce GoodHome products, designed in-house and sold across the group to give the company greater scale.” © Thisismoney.co.uk

Digital is perfectly in line with this new trend

Smaller spaces mean fewer products on display. Brands need to find solutions to show the depth of their range and customization options. This is where digital comes in. Floor standing touch terminals, virtual catalogues on shelves, dedicated corners with virtual fittings, mobile applications (such as Mon abri 3D by Leroy Merlin) with augmented reality visualization option. There is no shortage of solutions and they bring their share of novelty.

Ikea

Furniture stores are beginning to follow this key trend to reinvent themselves. IKEA is a good example of a pioneer with a reinvented customer journey. The brand recently opened a store near the place de la Madeleine in Paris. The surface area is much smaller (5400 sq. m.) than that of the shops on the outskirts. The offer is also different. Design and marketing specialists have studied the homes and behaviours of Parisians to propose an adapted and refocused offer. More decoration, small furniture and the possibility to order large items with a reinforced delivery offer. A connected, urban store designed for customers without a vehicle, this intramuros location no longer requires a route but offers dedicated spaces where customers can go directly according to their needs. With 4000 products listed, only 1500 available to take away, IKEA also plays on service to seduce its catchment area. Advice, workshops, trained staff, tablets available to place orders. This new formula should be attractive and the figures tend to support it.

 A few figures to conclude

 

Données retail Samsung
2019 Smart Retail Survey by Samsung

 

According to a recent study by Samsung38% of French people believe that the presence of digital devices would encourage them to go more to the store ». The percentage rises to 57% for 18-34 year-olds and 50% for 35-41 year-olds. Even if there is still some reluctance, the benefits for the brands are already being felt. These include improving brand image (61%), “strengthening customer loyalty (54%, up to 69% for brands equipped with screens) or increasing in-store traffic (47%) “**. These are all figures that will certainly change in the coming months and years and are good reasons to follow in the footsteps of the pioneers.

#Stay tuned

 

Sources :

*Source : https://www.lsa-conso.fr/photos/leroy-merlin-ouvre-son-appart-aux-batignolles,308891/leroy-merlin-l-appart.2

** Source : https://mydigitalweek.com/37156-2/

***Source : https://www.lsa-conso.fr/mr-bricolage-part-a-la-conquete-des-centres-villes,283551

****Source : https://www.lavoixdunord.fr/597797/article/2019-06-12/castorama-experimente-good-home-cet-automne-pres-de-lille et https://www.lemonde.fr/economie/article/2019/06/04/bricolage-ce-que-cache-le-lancement-de-goodhome-par-kingfisher_5471373_3234.html

Magasins de déco et bricolage : nouvelle tendance

par fanny | oct. 2019

Depuis quelques temps déjà, vous avez peut-être pu observer un changement dans vos villes et quartiers. Les magasins de brico-déco ne sont plus à la même place, l’offre est différente, plus proche. La tendance veut de plus petites surfaces, une sélection de produits adaptée aux citadins, et une prise de commande directement dans ces nouveaux showrooms du centre-ville.

 

Quels sont ces nouveaux modèles ?

Si les Leroy Merlin et autre Mr.Bricolage n’ont pas disparu des périphéries des agglomérations, ils adoptent depuis quelques temps une nouvelle approche. Les citadins utilisent peu la voiture et se rendent finalement moins dans les grandes surfaces de bricolage en « banlieue ». Fortes de ce constat, les grandes enseignes de bricolage et décoration ouvrent de nouveaux magasins qui se veulent plus proches de lieux d’expériences ou d’appartements plutôt que de grandes surfaces sans âme.

 

Le concept

L’idée de ces lieux est de créer des espaces qui ressemblent aux consommateurs et qui les rassemblent. Des aménagements dans lesquels ils retrouvent l’esprit de leur propre intérieur ou de celui qu’ils rêveraient d’avoir.

Leroy Merlin

On peut citer plusieurs exemples. Leroy Merlin tout d’abord qui a ouvert il y a quelques mois « L’Appart » dans le quartier Clichy-Batignolles. C’est le 5ème magasin parisien de la marque mais le premier d’un nouveau genre. Une petite surface, 2200 m2 sur deux étages, avec un concept étudié pour coller aux habitudes et aux goûts des habitants du quartier. Plus qu’un magasin, il s’agit d’un lieu prévu pour des conférences, des espaces d’échanges et de rencontres, une partie coworking. Avec un parcours savamment pensé, L’Appart propose de passer par quatre appartements témoins types d’habitants du quartier. Suivent l’espace déco avec notamment toute une sélection de luminaires, la peinture et les revêtements muraux et de sol. L’espace bricolage se trouve au 2ème étage.*

Parcours client L'appart leroy Merlin Batignolles
L’Appart Leroy Merlin aux Batignolles à Paris. © LSA conso
Mr.Bricolage

En se projetant dans ces lieux qui leur ressemblent, les consommateurs et visiteurs sont plus à même d’acheter de la déco ou les fournitures et produits de dépannage dont ils ont besoin. Autre exemple, Mr.Bricolage a ouvert dans le centre-ville d’Orléans un magasin avec une superficie trois fois plus petite que sa surface moyenne. Dans celui-ci, la marque mise davantage sur la décoration que sur le bricolage. 50% de ses ventes reposent en effet sur ce secteur et celui du jardin. En ville, la demande en décoration est souvent plus élevée qu’en périphérie. Les grandes enseignes de « bricolage » s’adaptent. ***

GoodHome

Enfin, dernier exemple que nous avons choisi de mettre en avant, le cas GoodHome, la nouvelle marque du groupe britannique Kingfisher. Le groupe détient notamment Brico Dépôt et Castorama qui a actuellement des difficultés en France. Pour se relancer, Kingfisher lance GoodHome, un concept qui propose des produits innovants organisés par projets. En effet, l’intérieur n’est pas pensé comme un magasin de bricolage mais fait plutôt appel au home staging par thématique comme rénover sa salle de bain ou améliorer son efficacité énergétique par exemple. L’idée est de concentrer sur une surface réduite les références les plus achetées et considérées comme les plus « urgentes ». Des bornes sont mises à disposition en magasin pour commander en ligne les produits qui n’y sont pas. Le concept est déjà en test au Royaume Uni et s’installe à l’automne 2019 en France près de Lille.****

GoodHome du groupe Kingfisher
« To help counter falling sales, B&Q will introduce GoodHome products, designed in-house and sold across the group to give the company greater scale.” © Thisismoney.co.uk

Le digital s’inscrit parfaitement dans cette nouvelle tendance

 Qui dit plus petits espaces dit moins de produits exposés. Les marques doivent trouver des solutions pour montrer la profondeur de leur gamme et les options de personnalisation. C’est là que le digital entre en scène. Bornes tactiles sur pied en magasin, catalogues virtuels sur tablettes, corners dédiés avec essayage virtuel, applications mobiles (comme Mon abri 3D by Leroy Merlin) avec option de visualisation en réalité augmentée. Les solutions ne manquent pas et apportent leur part de nouveauté.

Ikea

Les magasins de meubles commencent à suivre cette tendance clé pour se réinventer. IKEA est un bon exemple pionnier avec un parcours client réinventé. L’enseigne a récemment ouvert un magasin proche de la place de la Madeleine à Paris. La surface est bien plus petite (5400 m2) que celle des magasins des périphéries. L’offre est aussi différente. Des spécialistes du design et du marketing ont étudié les habitats et comportements des parisiens pour proposer une offre adaptée et recentrée. Davantage de déco, de petit mobilier et la possibilité de commander les gros articles avec une offre de livraison renforcée. Magasin connecté, urbain, pensé pour les clients sans véhicule, ce lieu intramuros n’impose plus de parcours mais propose des espaces dédiés où le client peut se rendre directement en fonction de ses besoins. 4000 produits référencés, seulement 1500 disponibles pour être emportés, IKEA joue aussi sur le service pour séduire sa zone de chalandise. Conseils, ateliers, personnel formé, tablettes disponibles pour passer commande. Cette nouvelle formule devrait séduire et les chiffres ont tendance à l’appuyer.

Quelques chiffres pour terminer

 

Données retail Samsung
Baromètre Smart Retail 2019 par Samsung

 

D’après une étude récente de Samsung38% des français estiment que la présence de dispositifs digitaux les inciterait à se rendre davantage en magasin ». Le pourcentage passe à 57% pour les 18-34 ans et à 50% pour les 35-41 ans. Même s’il existe encore des réticences, les bénéfices pour les enseignes se font déjà sentir. On peut citer l’amélioration de l’image de marque (61%), «le renforcement de la fidélisation des clients (54 %, jusqu’à 69 % pour les enseignes équipées d’écrans) ou encore l’augmentation du trafic en magasin (47 %)»**. Autant de chiffres qui vont certainement évoluer dans les mois et années à venir et de bonnes raisons d’emboîter le pas aux pionniers.

#Stay tuned

 

Sources :

*Source : https://www.lsa-conso.fr/photos/leroy-merlin-ouvre-son-appart-aux-batignolles,308891/leroy-merlin-l-appart.2

** Source : https://mydigitalweek.com/37156-2/

***Source : https://www.lsa-conso.fr/mr-bricolage-part-a-la-conquete-des-centres-villes,283551

****Source : https://www.lavoixdunord.fr/597797/article/2019-06-12/castorama-experimente-good-home-cet-automne-pres-de-lille et https://www.lemonde.fr/economie/article/2019/06/04/bricolage-ce-que-cache-le-lancement-de-goodhome-par-kingfisher_5471373_3234.html